NOVA

School of the Future

Episode: How can the science of learning help us rethink the future of education for all children? Airing September 14, 2016 at 9 pm on PBS

Air Date 9/14/16

 
Embed
To embed this video, copy and paste the code above.

About this Show Visit Nova Website Watch Previews Buy DVD

PBS' premier science series helps viewers of all ages explore the science behind the headlines. Along the way, NOVA programs demystify science and technology and highlight the people involved in scientific pursuits.
Upcoming Air Dates
  • #4121 — Killer Landslides |
    Monday, Sep 26 at 11pm TPT 2
  • #4121 — Killer Landslides |
    Tuesday, Sep 27 at 5am TPT 2
  • #4305 — Iceman Reborn |
    Wednesday, Sep 28 at 8pm TPT 2
  • #4305 — Iceman Reborn |
    Thursday, Sep 29 at 2am TPT 2
  • #4305 — Iceman Reborn |
    Sunday, Oct 2 at 4pm TPT 2
  • #4121 — Killer Landslides
    In less than two minutes in March, a one-square-mile field of debris slammed into the Washington state community of Oso, killing 41 and destroying nearly 50 homes. Drawing on analysis of other recent landslides around the world, geologists are investigating what triggered the deadliest U.S. landslide in decades and whether climate change is increasing the risk of similar disasters around the globe.
    Monday, Sep 26 at 11pm TPT 2
    Tuesday, Sep 27 at 5am TPT 2
  • #4203 — Sinkholes - Buried Alive
    In Tampa, Florida, in February 2013, a giant hole in the ground opened up and swallowed half a house, killing 36 year-old Jeffrey Bush as he slept in his bedroom. A month later, a golfer in Illinois survived an 18-foot fall when the 14th hole caved in beneath his feet. Both were victims of sinkholes-a notorious worldwide hazard that lurks wherever limestone bedrock is found. When carbon dioxide dissolves in rainwater, it forms a weak acid that attacks the soft limestone, riddling it like Swiss cheese with hidden underground rivers, caves and hollows. While this process of erosion takes millions of years, the fragile roof of a cavern near the surface can collapse in an eye blink, with little or no advance warning. Sinkholes can range from a few meters across to one in Egypt that measures 50 x 75 miles, and a Chinese hole nearly half a mile deep. Filled with compelling eyewitness video of collapsing sinkholes and authoritative science from expert geologists, NOVA investigates what it's like to have your world vanish beneath your feet.
    Wednesday, Oct 26 at 8pm TPT 2
    Thursday, Oct 27 at 2am TPT 2
    Sunday, Oct 30 at 8pm TPT LIFE
    Monday, Oct 31 at 2am TPT LIFE
    Monday, Oct 31 at 10:30pm TPT 2
    Tuesday, Nov 1 at 4:30am TPT 2
  • #4305 — Iceman Reborn
    Murdered more than 5,000 years ago, Otzi the Iceman is Europe's oldest known natural mummy. Now, new revelations about Otzi's life and legacy come to light, including surprising secrets hidden in his genetic code.
    Wednesday, Sep 28 at 8pm TPT 2
    Thursday, Sep 29 at 2am TPT 2
    Sunday, Oct 2 at 4pm TPT 2
    Sunday, Oct 2 at 8pm TPT LIFE
    Monday, Oct 3 at 2am TPT LIFE
  • #4312 — Great Human Odyssey
    Walk in the footsteps of our ancient ancestors as scientists trace the paths that led us out of Africa and around the world. From snowy Siberia to remote Pacific islands, discover how humans survived and thrived in every corner of the planet.
    Wednesday, Oct 5 at 8pm TPT 2
    Thursday, Oct 6 at 2am TPT 2
    Sunday, Oct 9 at 8pm TPT LIFE
    Monday, Oct 10 at 2am TPT LIFE
  • #4317 — Super Tunnel
    Follow an army of engineers and designers as they tackle the complex challenge of building Crossrail, a massive new subterranean railway deep beneath the streets of London.
    New Wednesday, Oct 12 at 8pm TPT 2
    Thursday, Oct 13 at 2am TPT 2
    Sunday, Oct 16 at 8pm TPT LIFE
    Monday, Oct 17 at 2am TPT LIFE
    Monday, Oct 17 at 10:30pm TPT 2
    Tuesday, Oct 18 at 4:30am TPT 2
  • #4318 — Treasures of the Earth: Gemstones
    Gemstones like diamonds, rubies, opal and jade are the ultimate treasures. Delve into Earth's depths to discover how these precious stones are forged and what explains the unique allure of each captivating gemstone.
    New Wednesday, Nov 2 at 8pm TPT 2
    Thursday, Nov 3 at 2am TPT 2
Passport ad

Introducing

Watch even more of your favorite
PBS and TPT shows online.

Learn More
Top