NOVA

S44 Ep7: Holocaust Escape Tunnel

The Lithuanian city of Vilna, known also as the “Jerusalem of the North”, was one of the most important Jewish centers in the world until World War II, when the Nazis murdered about 95% of its Jewish population. Now, an international team of archaeologists is excavating the remains of its Great Synagogue and searching for a lost escape tunnel dug by Jewish prisoners inside a Nazi execution site.

Air Date 4/18/17

 
Embed
To embed this video, copy and paste the code above.
PBS' premier science series helps viewers of all ages explore the science behind the headlines. Along the way, NOVA programs demystify science and technology and highlight the people involved in scientific pursuits.
Upcoming Air Dates
  • #4408 — Building Chernobyl's MegaTomb |
    New Wednesday, Apr 26 at 8pm TPT 2
  • #4408 — Building Chernobyl's MegaTomb |
    Thursday, Apr 27 at 2am TPT 2
  • #4408 — Building Chernobyl's MegaTomb |
    Sunday, Apr 30 at 8pm TPT LIFE
  • #4408 — Building Chernobyl's MegaTomb |
    Monday, May 1 at 2am TPT LIFE
  • #4408 — Building Chernobyl's MegaTomb |
    Monday, May 1 at 10:30pm TPT 2
  • #4013 — Meteor Strike
    A blinding streak of light screaming across the Russian sky, followed by a shuddering blast strong enough to damage buildings and send more than 1000 people to the hospital. On the morning of February 15th, a 7000 ton asteroid crashed into the Earth's atmosphere, exploded and fell to earth across a wide swath near the Ural mountains. According to NASA, the Siberian Meteor, which exploded with the power of 30 Hiroshima bombs, was the largest object to burst in the atmosphere since a 1908 event near Siberia's Tunguska river. That time there were few eyewitnesses and no record of the event except for thousands of acres of flattened trees. This time however the event was captured by countless digital dashboard cameras, which have lately become a common fixture in Russian autos and trucks. Within days, armed with this unprecedented crowd-sourced material, NOVA crews hit the ground in Russia along with impact scientists as they hunt for debris from the explosion and clues to the meteor's origin and makeup. To understand how lucky we were this time, we explore even greater explosions in the past, from Tunguska to the asteroid that extinguished the dinosaurs 65 million years ago. "Russian Meteor Strike" puts it all together and asks: Is our solar system a deadly celestial shooting gallery - with Earth in the cross-hairs? What are the chances that another, even more massive asteroid is heading straight for us? Are we just years, months or days away from a total global reboot of civilization, or worse?
    Wednesday, May 24 at 8pm TPT 2
    Thursday, May 25 at 2am TPT 2
    Sunday, May 28 at 8pm TPT LIFE
    Monday, May 29 at 2am TPT LIFE
    Monday, May 29 at 10:30pm TPT 2
    Tuesday, May 30 at 4:30am TPT 2
  • #4216 — Arctic Ghost Ship
    Unravel the greatest mystery in Arctic exploration: 160 years ago, the Franklin Expedition to chart the Northwest Passage vanished. Now, a Canadian team discovers one of Franklin's lost ships-a vital clue to the fate of the ill-starred expedition.
    Wednesday, May 10 at 8pm TPT 2
    Thursday, May 11 at 2am TPT 2
    Sunday, May 14 at 8pm TPT LIFE
    Monday, May 15 at 2am TPT LIFE
    Monday, May 15 at 10:30pm TPT 2
    Tuesday, May 16 at 4:30am TPT 2
  • #4317 — Super Tunnel
    Follow an army of engineers and designers as they tackle the complex challenge of building Crossrail, a massive new subterranean railway deep beneath the streets of London.
    Wednesday, May 3 at 8pm TPT 2
    Thursday, May 4 at 2am TPT 2
    Sunday, May 7 at 8pm TPT LIFE
    Monday, May 8 at 2am TPT LIFE
    Monday, May 8 at 10:30pm TPT 2
    Tuesday, May 9 at 4:30am TPT 2
  • #4408 — Building Chernobyl's MegaTomb
    Engineers race to build a massive dome to contain the crumbling remains of Chernobyl's reactor.
    New Wednesday, Apr 26 at 8pm TPT 2
    Thursday, Apr 27 at 2am TPT 2
    Sunday, Apr 30 at 8pm TPT LIFE
    Monday, May 1 at 2am TPT LIFE
    Monday, May 1 at 10:30pm TPT 2
    Tuesday, May 2 at 4:30am TPT 2
  • #4409 — Chinese Chariot Revealed
    For over 1000 years, chariots thundered across China's battlefields-dominating warfare longer than anywhere else on earth. Now, a series of amazing archaeological findings enable a team of experts to reconstruct and test China's first super-weapon.
    New Wednesday, May 17 at 8pm TPT 2
    Thursday, May 18 at 2am TPT 2
    Sunday, May 21 at 8pm TPT LIFE
    Monday, May 22 at 2am TPT LIFE
    Monday, May 22 at 10:30pm TPT 2
    Tuesday, May 23 at 4:30am TPT 2
  • #4410 — Troubled Waters
    The water contamination crisis in Flint, MI, has revealed a disturbing truth about the vulnerabilities of our aging drinking water infrastructure. Discover the chemistry, biology and engineering that led to this disaster.
    New Wednesday, May 31 at 8pm TPT 2
    Thursday, Jun 1 at 2am TPT 2

Introducing

Watch even more of your favorite PBS and TPT shows online.

Learn More

“I’m a TPT member to support the amazing kids’ programming!”

Become A Member
Top