NOVA

Mystery of Easter Island

A team of scientists and volunteers test a theory on how the ancient stone statues were moved, using a 15-ton replica.

Air Date 11/7/12

 
Embed
To embed this video, copy and paste the code above.
PBS' premier science series helps viewers of all ages explore the science behind the headlines. Along the way, NOVA programs demystify science and technology and highlight the people involved in scientific pursuits.
Upcoming Air Dates
  • #4302 — Life's Rocky Start |
    Sunday, Jul 23 at 9pm TPT LIFE
  • #4302 — Life's Rocky Start |
    Monday, Jul 24 at 3am TPT LIFE
  • #4302 — Life's Rocky Start |
    Monday, Jul 24 at 10:30pm TPT 2
  • #4302 — Life's Rocky Start |
    Tuesday, Jul 25 at 4:30am TPT 2
  • #4311 — Wild Ways |
    Wednesday, Jul 26 at 9pm TPT 2
  • #4102 — Zeppelin Terror Attack
    NOVA reveals the untold story of the biggest flying machines ever made: Germany's war zeppelins, which rained down death on British towns for two and a half terrifying years during World War I. In hands-on experiments, NOVA uncovers how the zeppelins were built and flown, and goes inside the desperate scramble to take down the zeppelins and make the streets of Britain safe again.
    Wednesday, Aug 30 at 8pm TPT 2
  • #4120 — Emperor's Ghost Army
    Emperor Qin Shi Huang of China was buried in a mausoleum with around 9,000 terracotta statues. Investigate how and why the life-sized figures were made and the technology behind the crossbows, spears and swords carried by the clay warriors.
    Wednesday, Aug 16 at 8pm TPT 2
    Thursday, Aug 17 at 2am TPT 2
    Sunday, Aug 20 at 8pm TPT LIFE
    Monday, Aug 21 at 2am TPT LIFE
    Monday, Aug 21 at 10:30pm TPT 2
    Tuesday, Aug 22 at 4:30am TPT 2
  • #4302 — Life's Rocky Start
    From the first sparks of life to the survival of the fittest, unearth the secret relationship between rocks and life. NOVA goes around the world and back in time to investigate how minerals are vital to the origins and evolution of life.
    Sunday, Jul 23 at 9pm TPT LIFE
    Monday, Jul 24 at 3am TPT LIFE
    Monday, Jul 24 at 10:30pm TPT 2
    Tuesday, Jul 25 at 4:30am TPT 2
  • #4311 — Wild Ways
    From Yellowstone to the Yukon, to Southern Africa's elephant highways stretching across five nations, explore how newly established wildlife corridors may offer a glimmer of hope to some of our planet's most cherished - but endangered - species.
    Wednesday, Jul 26 at 9pm TPT 2
    Thursday, Jul 27 at 3am TPT 2
    Sunday, Jul 30 at 9pm TPT LIFE
    Monday, Jul 31 at 3am TPT LIFE
    Monday, Jul 31 at 10:30pm TPT 2
    Tuesday, Aug 1 at 4:30am TPT 2
  • #4401 — Secrets of the Sky Tombs
    A team of daring scientists reveals ancient secrets of the first people to settle the forbidding Himalayas. Join them as they climb into mountain tombs that preserve evidence of strange rituals designed to ward off the restless spirits of the dead.
    Wednesday, Aug 2 at 9pm TPT 2
    Thursday, Aug 3 at 3am TPT 2
  • #4411 — Eclipse Over America
    Join scientists and citizens alike as they observe the first total solar eclipse to traverse the US mainland in more than a generation. Discover the storied history of eclipse science and follow current, cutting-edge research into the solar corona.
    New Monday, Aug 21 at 8pm TPT 2
    Tuesday, Aug 22 at 2am TPT 2
    Wednesday, Aug 23 at 7pm TPT 2
    Thursday, Aug 24 at 1am TPT 2
    Sunday, Aug 27 at 8pm TPT LIFE
    Monday, Aug 28 at 2am TPT LIFE

Introducing

Watch even more of your favorite PBS and TPT shows online.

Learn More

“I’m a TPT member to support the amazing kids’ programming!”

Become A Member
Top